Meal Plan for Week of 3-23-14

Hi folks! It’s time for my meal plan.  I plan out my meals for every day as it helps me spend my resources wisely.

Couple of intro notes:

  • I stay away from canola and vegetable oils.  The ONLY fats I have in my house is grass-fed butter, olive oil, and coconut oil.
  • I do NOT use traditional wheat flour as a thickener.  I always substitute tapioca flour or arrowroot.  (Sometimes, white rice or potato starch, but I don’t make a habit of it.  I have, however, made a KILLER sausage gravy with rice flour!)
  • I do not use refined sugar.  We keep maple syrup, raw honey, and rapadura (unbleached/unprocessed sugar)
  • I ALWAYS pre-soak beans.  I WOULD NOT SAY IT IF WERE NOT TRUE: That old musical tune in which we discuss beans being magical DOES.NOT.HAPPEN when you soak beans.  (Read more on my soaking habits on another blogger’s site, here)
  • All biscuits, breads, pancakes, and other bread-ish foods are either soaked, sprouted, or gluten-free (unless otherwise noted)
  • I try to buy meats and eggs that are pastured.  I’m not always so successful at finding it, so I do the best I can when I’m shopping.
  • I do not use soy, corn, canola (rapeseed), alfalfa, papaya, or sugar beet products unless they are specifically marked and/or certified “Non-GMO”. (Do your own research on genetically modified organisms!)
  • Special note on my no-GMOs and Gluten-Free stuff… this also means, no Xantham Gum ingredients (you’d be surprised how often they stuff it in GF recipes!) — xantham gum is often sourced from corn. :-/

So that’s my intro… I wanted to just rehash it for any newcomers so you understand, in case I don’t note it specifically, those are the types of substitutions (1:1) I make in all recipes.

So.  On to the plan!

Sunday:

BREAKFAST: scrambled eggs, breakfast juice (half-way down the page), bread of choice (granola, toast, biscuits)
LUNCH: pasta*, leftovers
DINNER: soft tacos with this gluten-free tortilla recipe (get ’em thin, folks!)
EXTRAS: making homemade chocolate pudding

*This is the big “cheat” meal in our house.  I don’t usually partake since it does not agree with the belly.

Monday:

BREAKFAST: huevos rancheros (or scrambled eggs for those in the household that don’t like spicy)
LUNCH: Strawberry grain-free muffins, fresh fruit of choice, yogurt
DINNER: chicken alfredo (maybe I’ll hammer out the recipe this time!) with sprouted fettuccine pasta, broccoli
EXTRAS: soak oats for oatmeal in the morning!

Tuesday:

BREAKFAST: homemade sausage, pumpkin soaked oatmeal (or bread of choice –granola, muffins)
LUNCH: leftovers, Berry smoothies (hidden spinach!), gluten & garbage-free nuggets (chic-fil-A copycat! LOOOVVEEE these!)
DINNER: Steak with this rub, green beans wrapped in baconAlmond flour cookies,  
EXTRAS: soak wheat for biscuits in the morning!

Wednesday:

BREAKFAST: soaked biscuits, sausage gravy, yogurt with honey and nuts
LUNCH: Cheesy meatloaf, onion peas, fresh fruit of choice, leftovers
DINNER: Orange sriracha chicken, homemade fried rice (sorry, no recipe yet!), egg drop soup
EXTRAS: popping extra popcorn for caramel corn

Thursday:

BREAKFAST: bacon, teddy bear toast,
LUNCH: blueberry muffins, fresh fruit, smoothies (hidden veggies!), leftovers
DINNER: Smoky spicy scotch eggs, roasted carrots, mashed potatoes
EXTRAS: make caramel corn

Friday:

BREAKFAST: french toast sticks (soaked bread + eggs!), applesauce
LUNCH: yogurt, leftovers, bourbon + fried eggs pork chops
DINNER: Mustard chicken, cream of broccoli soup, garlic toast
EXTRAS: soak flour for bread tomorrow

Saturday:

BREAKFAST: paleo gingerbread pancakes + bacon
LUNCH: fresh bread, hamburgers, blueberry coconut smoothies (hidden spinach!),
DINNER: Steak with this sauce/marinadesweet potato casserole (don’t forget real food substitutions!), green beans
EXTRAS: making cinnamon struessel grain-free muffins

Tagged:

6 thoughts on “Meal Plan for Week of 3-23-14

  1. […] if you’re new here, I’d recommend reading this post and this post to understand why I eat what I […]

  2. […] if you’re new here, I’d recommend reading this post and this post to understand why I eat what I […]

  3. […] if you’re new here, I’d recommend reading this post and this post to understand why I eat what I […]

  4. […] if you’re new here, I’d recommend reading this post and this post to understand why I eat what I […]

  5. […] if you’re new here, I’d recommend reading this post and this post to understand why I eat what I […]

  6. […] if you’re new here, I’d recommend reading this post and this post to understand why I eat what I […]

Leave a Reply

