Food for People Who Don’t Know “Real Food” – A Different Kind of Meal Plan

This week, I am so excited that I am sharing my house with my parents! I’m taking the week off from work (I work from home) so it’ll be a double joy – no computer work to do, and spending my days with my parents.

They are courageous eaters, health conscious people. However, they come to health-food from a different perspective. Now obviously, in the spirit of hospitality, I am still buying some of their favorite foods! (That I would personally not eat as I do not believe they are healthy.) However, if I’m going to cook, I want to cook meals that are healthy based on my research…. but what do I cook?

The bigger question is: what do I cook that introduces them to real food, but won’t turn them off entirely? That they walk away from their almost-real-food-week-experience with a positive attitude, and may even be willing to make changes, too?

What I will stay away from: really foreign flavors and different textures.

The things I will introduce, but in a very small batch, are coconut oil, coconut flour, almond flour. Anything that they have a preconcieved idea on what it “should” taste like, I will proceed with caution. Things that I’ve made “real food versions” of are probably not what I’m going to do first. (Example: I will choose to fry the egg in butter, not coconut oil. I won’t make coconut or almond flour pancakes and expect them to gobble them up.)

So, onto the list of recipes that I think are compatible for people not used to the “real food movement”:

Chop Salad

Homemade refried beans (reminder: sub chicken stock for those granules!)

Bourbon BBQ Brisket

Cheesy Herbed Meatloaf

Sprouted flour blueberry muffins

Almond Butter Cups

Roasted Carrots and Onions

Chic-Fil-A Copycat Chicken Nuggets

Smashed Steak Skewers & Korean Cherry BBQ Sauce

Homemade Caramel Corn

Roasted Broccoli Cheddar Soup

Chipotle Chili

Scalloped Potatoes and Beef Casserole 

Sweet Potato Brownies (*this one does have a different texture, but people are generally won over by the chocolate flavor. This would be a good intro to the coconut flour texture.)

Homemade maple breakfast sausage

Bacon Wrapped Chicken Strips

Poor Man’s Delight” (i.e., breakfast skillet)

French Onion Soup

Soaked Wheat Bread

Greek Dressing or Blue Cheese Dressing

 Do you have more meal ideas?  Recipes that non-real-foodies have enjoyed? Would love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

