Meal Plan 5/29 – 6/4

The food budget resets this week, my local farmer’s market begins again, and a trip to Trader Joe’s is in the plans! Trader Joe’s is NOT local to me, so it’s a “stock up” for things I can’t get as cheap locally. Girl’s on a budget.  I have a hybrid so I’m not losing all much money by making the drive. I try to go at least once every two months.  My FAVORITES are the canned cream coconut and salsa verde.  You HAVE NO IDEA WHAT YOU’RE MISSING until you try this stuff!

I am watching my carb intake (medical issues) and cutting gluten, which I mentioned in my recent recipe for gluten-free biscuits.  This is a meal plan for my family… it doesn’t mean I am eating it all, as the rest of my family is not gluten-free or watching their carb in-take.  (They aren’t anti-gluten-free, for which I’m thankful! We’ve been eating some gluten-free options for years just because the ingredients are healthier or easier for me to control.)

I use this post to create my grocery list, and then come back to it in the middle of the week so I remember what to thaw.  It’s not as big of a deal this week, but some weeks recipes “go” off each other: for example, I might roast a whole chicken one day because next day I’m going to use it to make homemade chicken salad.  I write this out as much for me as to help you!

At any rate, onward….

SUNDAY:
Breakfast: cereal/soaked oatmeal, cottage bacon, orange slices
Lunch: sandwiches/macaroni cheese, almonds, dried fruit (protein shake for me!)
Dinner: roasted broccoli, sun-dried tomato chicken sausage in red sauce (ravioli for those inclined)
Snacks, Other:  prepping peach + honey + yogurt Popsicle (they are that easy! just a mix of the three and freeze into molds)
NO SCHOOL TOMORROW! :)

MONDAY:
Breakfast:soaked oatmeal, scrambled eggs, sliced kiwi
Lunch: ham/cheese roll-ups (or ham sandwiches for those inclined), baby carrots, applesauce
Dinner: Going out to eat! (Such a treat for us! Thankful for someone who surprised us with a gift to Chipotle!)
Snacks, Other:
NO SCHOOL TOMORROW! :)

TUESDAY:
Breakfast: leftover biscuits, fried eggs, sliced oranges
Lunch: salsa chicken (chicken cooked in salsa), sweet organic (GMO Free) corn, fajita-style onions (for me), cucumber slices
Dinner: sloppy joes (for me, on a sweet potato), green beans, peach honey popsicles
Snacks, Other:
Packed for Daughter’s lunch tomorrow: carrots + peanut butter, applesauce, homemade lunchable

WEDNESDAY:
Breakfast: leftover coconut flour pancakes from Ditch the Wheat, maple breakfast sausage (easy recipe here from The Prairie Homestead), orange slices
Lunch: leftover sloppy joes, baby carrots
Dinner: Pig Dogs, baked potatoes, steamed cauliflower
Snacks, Other: soak oats for granola and dehydrate (recipe coming soon!)
Packed for Daughter’s lunch tomorrow: peanut butter jelly sandwich, cucumbers, fresh fruit

THURSDAY:
Breakfast: homemade soaked granola + yogurt, fresh fruit, bacon
Lunch: cobb salad (lettuce, lots of veggies, homemade croutons on GF bread, mustard vinaigrette, hard-boiled egg), apple + peanut butter
Dinner: chicken broccoli alfredo
Packed for Daughter’s lunch tomorrow: homemade lunchable, baby carrots + peanut butter, fresh fruit

FRIDAY:
Breakfast: leftover day, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs
Lunch: meat sauce, GF pasta for those inclined, cranberry+blue cheese+pecan salad
Dinner: whole roasted chicken in crockpot, green beans+bacon, sweet potatoes
Snacks, Other:  Making einkorn bread (from Jovial’s cookbook!), paleo cinnamon raisin muffins

SATURDAY:
Breakfast: zucchini onion and pepper fritatta,
Lunch: packed lunch as we are running errands (sandwiches for girls, dried fruit, protein shake for me)
Dinner: salmon, salads, macaroni and cheese
Snacks, Other: coconut mango ice cream

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

