Changes and Biscuits

This recipe was created out of a desire to make a gluten-free goody for a special occasion where the person honored is on a strict no-gluten diet.

P1190696

And then real life happened, and I find myself cutting gluten to deal with an ongoing issue that COULD be chronic if I don’t nip it now.

So now… this recipe is for me, too.

Let’s be real, here:  gluten-free flours are expensive.  If you’re accustomed to a food budget that uses conventional flour, switching that out can really take a chunk out of what you eat/make.  Some people increase what they’re willing to spend on food when needing to go gluten-free, others cut most carbs out entirely.  And I know that there’s that whole logic, “you pay for it now with more expensive food OR you pay for it later with increased health issues and medical bills”… but y’all, that just doesn’t work for people who REALLY don’t have the extra money.  If you have $400 leftover in a month to spend on groceries for two people, then you ONLY HAVE $400.  I have to tell you, $400 for two people to eat real food is not impossible, but it can definitely be tricky.  Telling someone with only an extra $400 to “pay for it now or pay for it later” is just simply faulty logic.  We can’t certainly expect to advise people to go into debt in order to eat.

(Insert a thoughtful pause.  I understand that the last statement could be construed to be political.  I don’t think so.  It’s called stewardship.  Read my rant on that here.)

So, here I am, trying to go gluten-free.  Rest assured, it’s a legitimate health issue.  I’m not doing this on a self-diagnosed (aka hypochondriac’s introspection) logic.  I’m doing this from a place where a doctor told me my body is NOT doing what it’s supposed to.

It’s not a “new” topic to discuss how I manage a strict food budget that consumes 90% real food (no processed, additives, GMO-free, etc.).  I don’t expect I’ll make these often… because again, pound for pound, gluten-free flour is expensive.

Needless to say… it was a FABULOUS treat.  They freeze AND thaw well! This was about as close to a “real” biscuit as it gets!  And if you’re wondering if it’s possible to have a gluten-free biscuit that tastes like a “real” one… ask my taste-testers… a.k.a. my biggest picky eaters. (Yes. They cleaned the bowl afterwards.)

P1190688

P1190685

INGREDIENTS:

2c gluten free flour, plus extra for dusting your hands
4tbl salted grass-fed butter (this version is HEALTHY. Please don’t get me all wound up about dairy fat.)
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 plain whole milk yogurt
3/4 c whole milk

DIRECTIONS:

Mix your flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda in one bowl.  With a fork or pastry cutter, cut in the butter.

P1190676

Mix in your yogurt and milk.

P1190677

Grease your cookie sheet.  I used butter.  What isn’t improved with butter?

Dust your hands with flour, and make a 2″ ball of dough, then flatten it out a little bit.

P1190681

Space them well on your greased baking sheet.

P1190692

Bake at 425* for 10 minutes.  And VOILA! Biscuits.

P1190694

Tagged: , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Changes and Biscuits

  1. mylifeasishan May 27, 2016 at 5:41 pm Reply

    Looks good

  2. July & The Plan | Foodies Gone Real July 6, 2016 at 12:58 pm Reply

    […] Sprouted Blueberry Muffins from Holistic Squid Soaked Flour Biscuits from The Elliott Homestead Gluten-Free Biscuits Einkorn Waffles Soaked English Muffins from The Elliott Homestead Toast Homemade Granola + Yogurt […]

Leave a Reply

