Sarah’s Musings – 3/8/15

So here I am again writing to share some of the things I learned, the ah-ha’s, the successes of my week.

First of all, I became heavily convicted that I REALLY need to eat more helpful foods.  Eating clean is a little bit about removing/replacing ingredients, and more about intentionally filling up nutritionally-packed foods.  I love “paleo” cookies just as much as the next person, but that 200-300 calories I consumed with a couple of cookies would be better spent on half an apple with peanut butter, and half a cup of broccoli with grass-fed butter.

The highlights of my week (in food-speak, anyway!) were:

A) The meal I made for my husband’s birthday – I made sprouted tortellini and soaked Italian breadsticks.  Did both of these without instructions or a recipe! One of these days, I’m going to be phenomenal at making Italian food in which my belly agrees. Still a few more bugs to work out on the breadsticks; hoping to have it on the blog in the next month or so!

B) I joined a facebook group (here) hosted by Russ Crandall, the brilliant blogger behind The Domestic Man (website here) where I got to test one of his new recipes for his upcoming cookbook, Paleo Takeout!  I plan to post more on that this week, but let me just say, right on with ALL of his other recipes, this was AMAZING.  I wanted to eat the sauce by the spoonful!  You can check out my pics on the experience in Instagram here.  You can read more about the cookbook here. (And I’m not compensated in ANY way for promoting this.  I really do believe his stuff is GREAT!)  The ability to pre-order on Amazon coming in a few weeks!

So here are some other worthy links, recipes, articles for your Sunday afternoon:

  • A clean Olive Garden vinaigrette dressing copy-cat recipe! Check it out here from Raising Generation Nourished.
  • This article angered me at first, then saddened me.  This is a piece from NPR on wasted food – the produce that, by looks alone, just didn’t make the mark.  It saddened me as the vast majority of the world’s population is malnourished, underfed, starving, etc.  Can you imagine what this food could do for a life?  I don’t pretend to have a solution, but we are called to be good stewards of our resources and to care for the needy – in fact, if you go back into the Old Testament, agriculture took every seven years “off” so that whatever grew up wild was for the foreigners and impoverished.  This excess being wasted is heart-breaking, in light of the hungry mouths needing to be filled.
  • More on my sermon on wasting and managing your food resources better … here.  An excellent article featured in the New York Times! (And yes, I compost. And yes, I use every last little bit of meat and bones I can off a chicken carcass.  It’s what our ancestors did; I would venture all the way until the supermarket era of post-WWII.)
  • If you want to read another sermon on proper resource management, I got on my soapbox here.
  • Neat, and short read on what the most googled foods are, by state, here.
  • My nerd is creepin’ out here when I promote this article… I thought it was absolutely fascinating to get an inside look of a small village bakery in southwest France!
  • And last, but not least – to close this post up reflecting on a topic close to the one I used to open, a beautiful article here on grace in the failed diets.

Have a great week, y’all!  Would love to hear what you read this week!

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

