The Chicken Dance and Wings

The moment I start talking about chickens, my girls are breaking out to their own version of the chicken dance (which is some combination of “chicka-chicka-brawk-brawk” and whatever funky chicken dance moves they imagine).  I think I sort of created this animal by introducing them to the polka chicken dance. (what do you want?! I’m from Texan-German descent! This is just what we do at weddings! I’m sorry!)

So I was mumbling under my breath about this recipe and of course now I’m surrounded by some pretty funky chickens.  ;-)

At any rate – this is what I REALLY wanted to write, in regards to chicken:

There are some foods that I admittedly really, really, really miss after cleaning up my diet.

Chicken wings weren’t one of them.

P1140838

These wings made me wonder why I’ve never been a “wings” fan. These are twice-coated BBQ wings, baked. (You can make them THREE times dipped! Instructions are below!) You could definitely fry them up (I’d highly recommend pastured tallow or lard) instead of baking, but I haven’t tried it (yet). If you do, please come back and let me know how it worked!

Someday, I’ll perfect a good, clean, nutrient-dense pizza, and make these wings, and have a guilt-free pizza and wings night. Until then – these shall do!

INGREDIENTS:

  • Chicken wings
  • Favorite BBQ sauce, separated
  • Coconut flour
  • Fat of choice (coconut oil, grass-fed butter, or pastured lard/tallow – in a liquid state)

*Note: I didn’t list any amounts.  This is because it’s largely an “eyeball” type of recipe, and is going to change depending on the consistency of your favorite BBQ sauce.

TOOLS:

  • Foil/parchment lined baking sheet
  • shallow dish for dredging (I use a plate that has a high rim! Tupperware, pie plate, casserole dish… anything will do!)
  • 2 bowls for BBQ sauce

DIRECTIONS:

Marinate your chicken wings for at least 30 minutes.  Feel free to do this overnight/all day (what I often do: start it marinating first thing in the morning, then come back to it when I’m ready to cook). Please note: you are going to need MORE BBQ sauce to coat the wings right before serving, so don’t use it all up on the marinating!

P1140894

Preheat your oven to 425*.

Coat your lined baking sheet with fat of choice.  These wings REALLY like to stick to the cooking sheet.

Remove the wings from the marinade, letting the excess drip off (don’t go crazy here, just do your best).

Dredge your marinated wings in the coconut flour. You may need to add more flour as coconut flour is quick to absorb into liquid.

P1140899

Pat some more coconut flour on the wings as needed – if it looks like the sauce has absorbed all the flour, go ahead and add more.

Spread these wings out on the cookie sheet – at least 1 inch apart.  Crowding makes it so that they won’t cook through/evenly.

P1140835

Now spoon some more sauce over these wings.

Cook for 20 minutes at 425*, turning halfway.  After you’ve flipped them at the halfway point, spoon more BBQ sauce on the other side of the wings.

P1140836

If you’re feeling really saucy, you can go for a THIRD coat after 20 minutes of cooking — let the wings cool slightly, then coat the wings in another batch of your favorite BBQ sauce.  I would suggest doing this one at a time, as the flour “likes” to come off the wings if you put them all in at the same time and then “stir” them up… this won’t work.  A good method is to use tongs to dip them back in, and pull them back out, gently. Repeat this process with all your wings.

BBQ Chicken Wings - Foodies Gone Real

(The picture above is WITHOUT the third coat of BBQ sauce.  I simply ran out.  But seriously, you can’t go wrong making these saucy!)

And serve! Viola! And, if you’re feeling so inclined, celebrate with a chicken dance. :)

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

