Weekly Meal Plan – week of 2/16/14

Hello, again! Here to post what I’m up to in the kitchen this week.  I hope you find something yummy to include in your own menus!

A couple of new notes:

  1. I always keep chicken stock frozen in my freezer.  I buy whole birds (waaaay cheaper), and literally get to use the whole thing by making my own broth.  Find the crazy easy instructions here
  2. I always keep this homemade chocolate on hand for the chocolate cravings… this recipe makes it a health-food!
  3. It’s noted here, but I make one loaf of bread every week.  We only eat soaked/sprouted. Recipe here
  4. I make a plan for every day, even if I know I won’t eat at home.  This a) helps if plans change, I still have something to cook and am less likely to just “grab something” and b) helps my family when I am unable to be there, there’s still a plan for something to eat in my absence.
  5. I regularly make kale+apple juice.  I use it to fill in the veggie needs (at least one of every color every day is our goal!). I don’t follow a recipe.
  6. I keep soaked beans in the freezer.  I’m speaking from personal experience: properly soaking the beans helps with the… typical less-than-pleasant after-effects.  I usually soak a bunch, and then pull out what I need.  Here is the method I follow.  (You should note that you do NOT have to use whey in this recipe.  You can substitute for any acidic medium… vinegar, lemon juice, etc.)

SUNDAY:
Breakfast: Eggs, oatmeal, yogurt
Lunch: Pasta*, leftovers, applesauce
Dinner: Tortilla soup (I usually half the recipe), served with avocado & GMO-free corn tortilla chips
Notes/extras: make homemade chocolate

MONDAY:
Breakfast: smoothies, bread of choice
Lunch: peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, fruit of choice
Dinner:  Paleo Spinach Crepes with eggs and cheese
Notes/extras: —

TUESDAY:
Breakfast: homemade french toast sticks, applesauce
Lunch: yogurt, fresh fruit, peanut butter spoons, bread of choice
Dinner:  Shepherd’s Pie (real food conversions: olive oil for vegetable oil, arrowroot starch for flour), crustless pumpkin pie
Notes/extras: —

WEDNESDAY:
Breakfast: bacon, smoothies, bread of choice
Lunch: fresh fruit, chicken nuggets
Dinner: Roasted carrots + onions, salmon roasted with garlic and lemon juice, Cheese+coconut biscuits (Akin to Red Lobster’s!)
Notes/extras: dehydrate fruit for fruit strips

THURSDAY:
Breakfast: teddy bear toast + bananas
Lunch: canned peaches, yogurt, egg drop soup (or scrambled eggs)
Dinner: Spicy Chicken and Sausage Stew (since this is spicy, I will probably offer left over chicken nuggets to my kids)
Notes/extras: soak oats for oatmeal, make paleo banana bread

FRIDAY:
Breakfast: oatmeal/banana bread, eggs
Lunch: fruit of choice, peanut butter jelly sandwiches, leftovers
Dinner: homemade refried beans, ground beef taco meat, soft tacos with these gluten-free tortillas,
Notes/extras: soak flour for bread tomorrow

SATURDAY:
Breakfast: Coconut Flour Pancakes, bacon
Lunch: fresh bread, yogurt, canned oranges
Dinner: Balsamic Steak (will substitute rapadura for brown sugar), will also use it on a generic cut of steak; roasted potatoes, peas
Notes/extras:  make bread in the morning

Snacks for the week: All foods I make extra of, which are open for snacking. I also have fruit strips, pumpkin popovers, banana bread to snack on.

One thought on “Weekly Meal Plan – week of 2/16/14

  1. […] again! It’s time for the weekly post of my meal plans.  I know the last several weeks (here, here, & here) I gave some tips or suggestions on how to make this work.  I think I forget that I […]

Leave a Reply

