Eating and Famines

This is a post from Sarah.  At some point we’ll get two users set up on the blog so you can see who is posting what… but for now, I’ll just announce myself. ;-)

And the REASON it’s important you know who is speaking is because while we love each other to the moon and back, Eleilia and I do food a little different from each other.  The principles Eleilia follows are commonly identified as strict Paleo.  You can find out some great definitions on what types of food here.  The biggest thing to draw your attention to is the image on this page provided by BalancedBites:

Image

I follow the Weston A. Price Foundation philosophy on food, Eleilia does not.  To put it simply: I do dairy and soaked grains.  Eventually, I’ll do a post  on soaked grains, but for now just understand that this is NOT as simple as cooking with 100% whole wheat.  It’s a process of preparing the grains so that your body can absorb the nutrition.  As far as the dairy is concerned…. I have no qualms admitting I am an addict.  It would take a severe allergy or intolerance for me to give it up.

That being said about soaked grains and dairy — I do limit my intake significantly of these two items.  The dairy- because I can’t get much of any raw dairy.  I can get grass-fed cheese and butter (let’s hear it for kerrygold!), but not raw, which is the preferred format of dairy. That, and I’m on a budget.  I’m already going primarily organic, and raw on top of organic is just plain-ole expensive.  I limit my soaked grains because, while soaking does allow the grains to be nutrient-dense, it’s still a carbohydrate… and I am not an athlete.  I have no need for an overabundance of carbs.  Furthermore, I am overweight.  A love of carbs is half of what got me into this spot, and my body needs to be burning off all the storage I’ve been building up.

Which brings me to my last point…. all of this information about what is good food and what isn’t is fine and good, but here’s my absolute bottom line of deciding what to eat:  My body thought I was in a famine of sorts.  Yes, I was eating…. but I wasn’t eating nutritious things that my body would interpret as food.  So day in, day out, I was consuming calories that my body did not interpret as food.  So if your body thinks you’re starving, it’ll add some cushion, and at minimum, not let go of the fat.  This was proven when I cut ALL processed food, and kept it to food that had nutritional value (vitamins, healthy fats, etc)… and dropped 10 pounds in 2 weeks.  Suddenly, my body was FED and had no need for my cushion.  I was out of a famine.

Tagged: , ,

7 thoughts on “Eating and Famines

  1. […] if you’re new here, I’d recommend reading this post and this post to understand why I eat what I […]

  2. […] if you’re new here, I’d recommend reading this post and this post to understand why I eat what I […]

  3. […] if you’re new here, I’d recommend reading this post and this post to understand why I eat what I […]

  4. […] if you’re new here, I’d recommend reading this post and this post to understand why I eat what I […]

  5. […] if you’re new here, I’d recommend reading this post and this post to understand why I eat what I […]

  6. […] if you’re new here, I’d recommend reading this post and this post to understand why I eat what I […]

  7. Confession Time | Foodies Gone Real August 4, 2015 at 9:46 am Reply

    […] water.  I’m not pushing myself in exercise.  I need a jump start.  This is all tied to famines and what my body interprets as nutrition.  Furthermore, I am beginning to experience the digestive issues I do when I eat too much carbs […]

Leave a Reply

